Steering Committee and Board of Directors

GAJE is governed by a Steering Committee (SC) consisting of two representatives from each of 8 regions of the world (one woman and one man) who are elected by the general membership at the biannual GAJE worldwide meetings, and a number of at-large members appointed by the 16 elected members. The Steering Committee, which is also GAJE’s Board of Directors, meets several times a year by email to conduct GAJE business and to direct work conducted by GAJE committees and working groups. Copies of recent Steering Committee meeting reports are available at the bottom of this page.

(Affiliations of Steering Committee members are for information only. Members do not represent their affiliated institutions or organizations in their capacity as Steering Committee members.)
AfricaLagi Odinakaonye, Network of University Legal Aid Institutions (NULAI), Nigeria; Christopher Mbazira , School of Law, Makerere University, Uganda.
AustralasiaAnna Cody, Kingsford Legal Centre, University of New South Wales (Australia); Jeff Giddings, Griffith Law School, Australia.
East AsiaPanarairat Srichaiyarat, Khon Kaen University Faculty of Law, Thailand; Uli Parulian Sihombing, Indonesian Legal Resource Center (ILRC), Indonesia.
Eastern Europe (including Russia)Maxim Tomoszek, Centre for Clinical Legal Education at the Palacky University in Olomouc, Faculty of Law, Czech Republic; Mariana Berbec-Rostas, Open Society Foundations, Human Rights and Governance Program (Romania)
South and Central America (including Mexico)Alejandro Posadas, School of Government, Tecnológico de Monterrey (Mexico); Celeste Romero, Attorney (Argentina)
South and Central Asia (including the Mideast)Nisreen Mahasneh, Yarmouk University, Jordan; Ajay Pandey, Jindal Global Law School (India).
North AmericaLisa Bliss, Georgia State University College of Law, USA; Tim Casey, California Western School of Law, USA.
Western EuropeMarzia Barbera, Department of Law, University of Brescia, Italy; Jose Garcia-Anon, Human Rights Institute, University of Valencia, Spain.
At-largeFrank Bloch, Vanderbilt University Law School (USA); Filip Czernicki, Polish Legal Clinics Foundation (Poland); Bruce Lasky, Bridges Across Boarders Southeast Asia – Community Legal Education Initiative (Thailand, USA); Catherine Klein, Catholic University of America Columbus School of Law (USA); David McQuoid-Mason, University of Kwa-Zulu Natal (South Africa); Wendy Morrish, Bridges Across Boarders Southeast Asia – Community Legal Education Initiative (Thailand, Australia).


  • President: Mariana Berbec-Rostas
  • Treasurer: Timothy Casey
  • Secretary: Odinakaonye Lagi

Reports of Meetings